Checking In

Hey hey!

I’ve been gone for a while, I know, life has become super busy with the new job! I am happy though and enjoying the busyness. I’m not sure what my blogging schedule will be like for the next few months while I’m in training, but I can let you know that after the training period I am going to be travelling for work nearly all the time. Yup, my job is 60-75% travel. I can’t wait to show you all what I manage to find to eat while staying in rural Kansas!! I’ll be all over Canada, the US, and maybe even Europe. I might even be in Hawaii for a week or so :-) So, that’s what will be coming up for me!

For the present though, I’ve been enjoying spending as little of my free time as I can at my computer. For me, the reasons why I love blogging are also some of the reasons I need to get away from it sometimes- but reading Heather‘s post on fat really made me remember that I need to eat the way that is right for me, not someone else. I love all the neat foodie ideas I get from reading blogs, but sometimes they influence my thoughts on how I think I should be eating, instead of reinforcing what I know about what works for me.

But enough talk, let’s look at some food :-D

I have been seriously loving on coconut water (it was on sale at WF so I gave it a whirl) and coconut butter, and I’ve been making tons of smoothies with these two lately.

Another meal I’ve been loving lately? 2-egg omlette with cheese and cooked in just a tiny pat of butter. That, and putting half and half in my coffee, because fat keeps me full longer and makes me happy. There, I said it, I love fat :-)

And to go a little gourmet on you, I made Potato Gnocchi tonight. It takes forever but the end result is so delicious.. I used the basic recipe from 101 Cookbooks, and made a sauce from butter, olive oil, lemon and white wine.

Perfect.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Checking In

  1. I think I could eat every meal with you and be a happy girl. So refreshing to hear you’re not scared of fat…it’s soooo good for us. Drinking some coffee with cream as I type this.

    Good luck with training and with all your travels and thanks for the shout-out. :)

    Enjoy your Sunday!

  2. That sounds like an amazing job, traveling like that! The gnocchi looks fabulous!

    Send me an email if you’re in Toronto, we will definitely do a meet up, I’m sad we couldn’t before I left!

    xo
    K

  3. So glad you are liking your job! But I miss reading your posts :(

  4. So glad I followed over from Eat, Live, Run (saw your comment there) – your smoothies look delish!! :-D

  5. I MISS YOU!!!!!! Yay for liking your new job, noodle and I are very happy to hear that! And the gnocchi looks so good! yummy!

  6. Great blog! Found you through Heather’s. Amen to fat!….but sorry I love my carbs too – oops :(…

  7. Wow, what a job! Enjoy and come back to us as soon as you can :)

Leave a Reply

