Oversized Food

Happy Valentines Day!

I hope everyone is celebrating the way they see fit, with kisses (of the human, canine, or chocolate variety, all are wonderful) and plenty of love. Steve and I have plans to go out for dinner tonight, but for today we’re doing the lazy thing and he’s playing video games while I blog. I made a pancake brunch for the two of us this morning, and I have to say that I think I have fiiiiinally found my go-to pancake recipe. I am so, so, so picky about pancakes. I don’t like them too fluffy so that they fall apart on your fork or so muffin-y that you need a serrated knife to cut them. I don’t like them too thin, but they also shouldn’t be too tall. I was using a mix a couple months back but realized that sub-par pancakes just wouldn’t cut it any more so I tossed it. But enough of the drama, I’ve found the one!

Heidi of 101 Cookbooks knows how to make a pancake, and her favourite recipe has now become mine. I always doubt the proportion of liquids to dry ingredients in pancake recipes because I find that most are too heavy on the liquid and there are few things I hate more than a soupy pancake batter. So I was stingy on the buttermilk, but found myself making up for that defecit as I combined wet and dry because, well, what do you know, her proportions were right on. I guess Heidi hates soupy pancake batter too. These smell like cake while they’re cooking and are fluffy while also being a touch doughy, and the buttermilk adds such a nice flavour that I know my search for the perfect pancake recipe is through. Thank you, Heidi!

From pancakes I’m now going to jump to cupcakes :-) Steve and I found ourselves at the South End Buttery yesterday and I am so glad we stopped in. We ordered a large 2% milk cappuccino and a carrot cake cupcake (all of their cupcakes are named after their dogs, which we loved) to share.

The cupcake was moist but taste-wise, nothing special. The cream cheese frosting, however, was amazing! It was slighty lemony and so creamy and tart but still sweet. Swoon-worthy, certainly.

And now to address the reason why I’ve titled my post about huge food…

I bought a ball of multigrain pizza dough from Whole Foods the other night with a plan to make calzones for Steve and I. I sauteed onions, green peppers and mushrooms with Italian spices and a little red wine, rolled out the dough and then stuffed them with pizza sauce, veggies, mozzarella and salami. I used a little over a fourth of the dough for my calzone, which came out lovely but still a little large for a single serving.

Ok, so the dough package claimed it held 11 servings. I might have scoffed at first but after this monster came out of the oven, Steve and I could not stop laughing at its hugeness. Please note the cell phone next to it for size comparison.

Steve, I am not trying to cause your death by dough. It took him 3 meals to eat all this :-)

Eat lots of chocolate today everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Oversized Food

  1. Glad you are having a good Valentine’s Day! I’ve seen cupcakes all over the blog world today and now I want one! One with lots of cream cheese frosting! :)

  2. MMMM South End Buttery is my favorite place to go and study or just waste the afternoon away. I love all their stuff, but I have yet to try their cupcakes. Carrot cake is my fav! I’m bummed to hear it wasn’t spectacular…but I’ll have to try one on my way to my internship this Friday! Thanks!

  3. hey!
    i just found your blog and i can’t wait to continue reading!
    i would love it if you could come check out my blog and follow as well :)
    Jenna

Leave a Reply

